Waterways World: Help at Hand

Waterways World August 2012The August edition of Waterways World is out! Welcome to the new editor Bobby Cowling. It’s the first edition following the move of British Waterways to the Canal and Rivers Trust.

On page 94 you will find my interview with my local marine engineer, Ed Boden.

“It was winter. We were low on diesel and the coal boat was delayed because of a lock stoppage. We were out of water, so I needed to move the boat to the water point… I untie the mooring ropes and put the engine in gear: Nothing. The prop won’t engage. I peer over the back of the stern into the water, looking for some sign of a churning propeller. Maybe we’ve just run aground?

…Then I find the diesel stove has gone out: our only heating. So now we are out of water, out of diesel, out of heating and broken down. Who were we going to call?”

The answer is Ed Boden: Marine Engineer! Read the full article in Waterways World August 2012